Odisha: Bhrugu Baxipatra quits BJP

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 03, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, Ap 3: Senior BJP leader Bhrugu Baxipatra today resigned from the primary membership of the BJP. He tendered his resignation letter to State BJP chief Manmohan Samal.


"In these 23 years, during which I dedicated my best efforts to the Party's growth in the state, I find it necessary to step down. Despite executing every assigned responsibility with utmost sincerity and diligence, I've come to the realization that my contributions are no longer required," he stated in the letter.


"While I am grateful for the opportunities to serve and strengthen the Party's organizational and political base, recent events have led me to conclude it's time to move on. My commitment to serving the people of Odisha and contributing to our state's development remains unwavering," he affirmed.


Sources said that Baxipatra's decision to resign stemmed from being denied the BJP ticket for the Berhampur Lok Sabha seat. The party has instead nominated Gopalpur MLA Pradeep Panigrahy for the constituency. Panigrahy, a former BJD member who joined BJP after being expelled from the ruling party in 2020, is a three-time MLA from Gopalpur.


In the 2019 general election, Baxipatra contested as a BJP candidate for the Berhampur LS seat but lost to BJD's Chandra Sekhar Sahu.


The Berhampur LS constituency, located in the home district of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, holds significant importance, with BJP aiming to secure victory. Notably, the BJP has only won this Parliamentary seat once, in 1999.

  • Odisha Election 2024
  • BJP
  • Bhrugu Baxipatra

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.