Odisha witnesses 7.69% voter turnout by 9 am

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | June 01, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, June 1: Odisha's electoral landscape saw significant activity as around 7.69% of eligible voters exercised their franchise by 9 am in six Lok Sabha constituencies and 42 assembly segments. This marks the culmination of the simultaneous elections in the state, with polling underway in the final phase.


Get Latest Updates on Election 2024 Stay Updated with us.


The voting process commenced at 7 am across Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, and Jagatsinghpur parliamentary constituencies, encompassing 42 assembly segments within their purview.


N B Dhal, Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha, said that the voting process has been conducted peacefully across the 10,882 polling booths, with sporadic incidents of Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) glitches. These issues were promptly addressed, with faulty machines either rectified or replaced.


Also Read: Election Exit Polls 2024: Check When and Where to Watch Results for Lok sabha and Odisha Assembly Election

The electoral contest features 66 candidates vying for Lok Sabha seats and 394 nominees competing for assembly segments in this final phase of polling in the eastern state.


Notable contenders in this phase include prominent figures such as Odisha Assembly Speaker Pramila Mallik, Government Chief Whip Prashant Kumar Mudili, and several Odisha ministers, including Sudam Marndi, Ashwini Patra, Pritiranjan Ghadai, Atanu S Nayak, Pratap Deb, and T K Behera.


Also Read: Odisha: Campaigning ends for final phase of polling on June 1

Additionally, four incumbent Members of Parliament, namely Pratap Sarangi (Balasore), Manju Lata Mandal (Bhadrak), Sarmistha Sethi (Jajpur), and Rajashree Mallick (Jagatsinghpur), are contesting to retain their seats.

  • Election 2024
  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.