Four BJD MLAs served show-cause notices under Anti-Defection law

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 22, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar:  Four MLAs from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) have been served show-cause notices under the anti-defection law. These MLAs have recently resigned from the BJD and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The MLAs Issued show cause notices are Samir Dash (Nimapara MLA), Simarani Nayak (Hindol MLA),  Ramesh Chandra Sai (Athamallik MLA) and Parshuram Dhada (Soro MLA)

The Assembly secretary issued these notices based on a petition filed by government chief whip Prasanta Muduli.

The notices seek an explanation from the MLAs regarding their defection from the BJD.

All four MLAs quit the BJD and joined the BJP after being denied tickets by the ruling party for the onging elections.

Mean while, Samir Dash, a three-time MLA from Nimapara, has been appointed as the BJP spokesperson.

Simarani Nayak and Parsuram Dhada are BJP candidates from Hindol and Soro Assembly seats, respectively.

Despite the show cause notices, any action taken by the Assembly will not affect the MLAs’ participation in the ongoing elections.

Earlier, the Speaker disqualified Arabinda Dhali and Premananda Nayak (both of whom joined the BJP after quitting the BJD) under the anti-defection law

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.