Rush for BJD ticket in Paralakhemundi assembly constituency

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | December 06, 2023 IST

Bhubaneswar, Dec 6:   While there has been a sweep across the state in favour of BJD, Paralakhemundi assembly constituency has been an exception. In the last 5 elections from 2000, Congress has won thrice, whereas the ruling BJD and BJP have won only once each. Now this seat is a challenge for the ruling BJD. 

 This time, the BJD has been trying hard to occupy the Paralakhemundi assembly segment by any means. Therefore, the party is looking for a right candidate for the upcoming election. On the other hand, the list of aspirants for the ruling party ticket is also very long. 

 This Assemnbly seat had gone to the BJP in the 2019 elections. The current MLA K, Narayan Rao joined the BJP at the last moment after being denied ticket from the ruling BJD and won the crown. BJD had fielded princess of Parala  Kalyani Gajapati and was finished third with only 18.26 percent votes. BJD tried to win votes with a new face but did not succeed. The infighting was the main reason for BJD's defeat in the last election.

 Despite this, many aspirants are in the queue for the ruling BJD ticket this time.. District BJD youth President A. Lingaraj, former district party president and state secretary Basanta Kumar Dash, Pradeep Nayak, and more than 10 aspirants are lobbying for the  BJD ticket.   

So, whether the BJD will field a new face or trust the old guard  this time is now a question.

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.