Pradeep’s BJP entry triggers ticket race in Gopalpur

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | February 22, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, Feb 22: The entry of Gopalpur MLA Pradeep Panigrahy into the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has stirred up the political landscape in the Gopalpur Assembly segment of Ganjam district. This move has left the local party circle in a dilemma over candidate selection for the upcoming election.

Pradeep Panigrahy, who won consecutively three times as a BJD candidate from Gopalpur, defeated the BJP’s candidate Bibhuti Jena in the last election. In the 2019 contest, Panigrahy secured 61,628 votes, while Jena scored 56,599 votes. The BJD’s vote share stood at 45.69%, and the BJP’s increased to 43.71%, with Congress securing a meager 7.45%.

Given the voting trends in the last two elections, the BJP’s prospects appear brighter this time. However, with Panigrahy’s entry into the BJP, candidate selection poses a challenge for the party. While it was expected that Panigrahy would join the BJP, the delay occurred because he reportedly wanted the party ticket to contest the 2024 general election. The state BJP leadership faced a dilemma in accepting his condition, considering the party’s strengthened base in Gopalpur.

Both Panigrahy and Jena are the main contenders for the party ticket. To avoid discontentment within the party, the BJP may opt for a new face to contest from Gopalpur. 

Meanwhile, the BJD has indicated that Berhampur MLA Bikram Panda will be its candidate in Gopalpur. Panda has been actively engaging with voters in the Assembly segment. The Congress is also making efforts to regain its lost base in the constituency

The Gopalpur Assembly constituency comprises Gopalpur NAC, ward no. 25 to 27 of Berhampur Municipal Corporation, Rangailunda block, and four gram panchayats of Kukudakhandi

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.