Odisha: Big fight between BJD’s Ashok Panda and BJP’s Babu Singh in Ekamra Bhubaneswar

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 23, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 23: The Ekamra-Bhubaneswar assembly segment is indeed witnessing an intriguing battle in the upcoming elections. 

Incumbent MLA Ashok Panda (BJD) is representing this segment since 2009, Panda has consistently secured victory in the past three elections (2009, 2014, and 2019) with substantial margins. Now, he’s seeking a fourth term, aiming to continue his winning streak.

Challenger Babu Singh of BJP, who lost to Panda in 2019, is once again contesting from the BJP. In the previous election, Panda had secured 75,020 votes, while Singh received 46,363 votes, Panda had won the seat  with 28,657 margin.

 Congress nominee Rasmi Mohapatra, who had  secured only 6,780 votes in 2019, has switched to the BJP this time and is supporting Babu Singh.

 Ashok Panda enjoys support from several quarters. Amiya Das, the BJP nominee who lost to him in 2014, has now switched to the BJD and is actively campaigning for Panda. 

Additionally, BJD has managed to retain its rebel leader Biranchi Narayan Mahasupakar (Litu), who is also campaigning for Panda.

The Congress party, which performed poorly in previous elections, has fielded Prasant Champati as its nominee. Champati represents a fresh face in the political landscape.

The battle in Ekamra Bhubaneswar promises to be intense, with the stalwart Ashok Panda facing off against BJP’s Babu Singh. Voters in this assembly constituency, which includes five Gram Panchayats (Basuaghai, Itipur, Tikarapada, Dhauli, and Sisupal) of the Bhubaneswar block, along with specific wards in Bhubaneswar, will play a crucial role in determining the outcome

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.