Fierce fight in Bhubaneswar-Ekamra assembly seat this time

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 09, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, April 9 : The Bhubaneswar-Ekamra Assembly constituency has long been a stronghold for BJD leader and minister Ashok Chandra Panda, who has successfully held the seat for the past three terms. However, this time, a fierce fight awaits Panda as he strives to secure victory for the fourth consecutive term.

While Panda previously had won the seat in the past three terms with a comfortable margin, several challenges have surfaced this year.

  Biranchi Mahasupakar, a four-time corporator and BJD leader, has decided to contest as an independent candidate after being denied a BJD ticket Intensification of his campaign poses a risk of splitting the party’s votes in the constituency.

The BJP, represented by Babu Singh, has consistently increased its vote share in the constituency. From 13.19% in 2009, it now stands at approximately 35% as of the 2019 elections.

Despite these challenges, Ashok Panda remains confident. He believes that the people of the constituency appreciate the development work carried out by the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government. 

The impact of Independent candidates remains a crucial factor in this contest, and the battle for Bhubaneswar-Ekamra promises to be closely watched.


  • General Elections 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.