Young politicians in Odisha prepare to inherit legacy

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 09, 2024 IST


Bhubaneswar, Ap 9: Ahead of the 2024 general and assembly elections in Odisha, a new wave of young and educated individuals, children of seasoned politicians, are poised to follow their parents' political legacies.


The established political figures in the state are passing the baton to their sons and daughters. This shift signals a significant generational transfer . With the emergence of these young successors, the dynamics of Odisha's political arena are poised for transformation, as a blend of experience and youthful vigor enters the fray. This transition not only reflects the evolution of political dynasties but also underscores the continuity of political influence and engagement within the region.

Get Latest Updates on Election 2024 Stay Updated with us.


Among the notable contenders vying for tickets, Lipika Majhi, daughter of the three-time former Congress MLA Bhujabal Majhi from Dabugaon assembly constituency in Nabarangpur district, stands out.


Senior Congress MLA Narsingh Mishra has opened the path for his son, Samarendra Mishra, while Nihar Ranjan Behera, son of the five-time MLA Yogendra Behera, is making his electoral debut. Abhinandan, son of Kalahandi Lok Sabha MP and senior BJP leader Basant Panda, is venturing into politics for the first time, contesting from the Nuapada Sadar seat.


The political lineage continues within the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) as well, with AU Singh Deo making way for his son Kalikesh, a two-time MP, to contest from the Bolangir assembly seat. Meanwhile, former union minister Bhakta Charan Das and his son Sagar Charan are contesting on the Congress ticket.


Further enriching the electoral tapestry are candidates like Manmath Routray, son of senior Congress MLA Sura Routray, contesting on the BJD ticket, and Upasana Mohapatra, daughter of former Congress MLA Lalatendu Bidhyadhar Mohapatra, eyeing a BJP ticket from Brahmagiri constituency.


Athagarh MLA Ranendra Pratap Swain is inclined to provide a platform for his son Aditya Pratap Swain to venture into Athagarh politics, continuing the family's political journey.


The trend extends to other regions, with Debasmita Sharma, daughter of former Congress legislator Devendra Sharma from Aul in Kendrapada district, launching her campaign for the Aul assembly constituency. Similarly, BJD MLA Dipali Das, daughter of former health minister Naba Das from Jharsuguda, and Barsha Singh Bariha, daughter of former BJD MLA Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha from Padampur, are also seeking to make their mark in the upcoming elections.

  • Election 2024
  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.