Odisha: Who will be next Chief Secretary and Director General of Police ?

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | June 06, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, June 6:  As the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prepares to form the government in Odisha, discussions about appointment of the Chief Secretary and Director General of Police (DGP) post have begun.

Though it is not yet clear who will be the Chief Minister of the state, a few names have now come to surface.

Satyabrat Sahu, 1991 batch Odisha cadre IAS officer, is in the running for the Chief Secretary post.

Nikunja Bihari Dhal, also a 1993 batch Odisha cadre IAS officer is in race for the Chief Secretary post , Dhal is serving as the Chief Election Officer.

Tusharkant Pandey, currently on central deputation and serving in the Finance ministry, is another contender.

Rajesh Burma, the secretary to the President of India is also in the race for Chief Secretary.

Similarly, after retirement of Sunil Bansal, Arun Kumar Sarangi, has been serving as the working Director General of Police- DGP in the state since January 1. Due to the onging election process, the selection of new DGP has not yet done by UPSC.  

The UPSC will choose the new DGP from a shortlist provided by the previous government. The list includes names like IPS officer Y B Khurania, Sudhansu Sarangi, B. Radhika, and A.M. Prasad. Notably, B. Radhika has already resigned from service.

It’s interesting to see how the BJP’s focus on “Odia Asmita” (Odia identity) will influence these appointments. 


News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.