Odisha: Triangular contest in Cuttack- Barabati Assembly seat

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 11, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May,11: The Barabati-Cuttack Assembly constituency is indeed witnessing an interesting triangular contest among the three major parties: BJD, BJP, and Congress. 

As Cuttack is facing the perennial civic issues, all the candidates of the three major political parties are promising lot to solve the issues after being elected. 

This time, BJD has fielded Prakash Behera. The BJD candidate aims to address civic issues by constructing a barrage on the Kathajodi river near Purighat. This project intends to conserve water and solve the city’s drinking water problems.

Similarly, Sofia Firdous, the Congress candidate and daughter of incumbent Congress MLA Mohammed Moquim, plans to release a detailed manifesto for the city. Her focus is on fulfilling her father’s half-executed developmental works.

BJP has nominated Dr. Purna Chandra Mohapatra, a renowned physician, who promises all-round development for Cuttack city. He emphasizes the benefits of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s developmental and welfare schemes.

Barabati-Cuttack assembly segment which comes under Cuttack Lok Sabha constituency located in the Cuttack district.  It includes 25 wards of Cuttack city.

In the 2019 Odisha assembly elections, the Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Mohammed Moquim emerged victorious from the Barabati-Cuttack seat, polling 50,244 votes. The BJD candidate Debashish Samantaray was the runner-up with 46,417 votes.

The triangular contest among the BJD, BJP, and Congress candidates promises an exciting electoral battle. 

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.