Odisha: Four prominent women candidates in fray in Nabarangpur district

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 24, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, April: It’s fascinating to see an increase in women candidates participating in electoral politics in the tribal-dominated district of Nabarangpur, Odisha. 

The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has nominated Kaushalya Pradhani, the wife of incumbent MLA Sadasiv Pradhani in Nabarangpur assembly segmnet. She’s actively campaigning alongside her husband in the area.

Another BJD candidate, Nabina Nayak, is the wife of former Umarkote MLA Subash Gond is contesting from Umarkote this tiem. She currently serves as the Chairman of Raighar Block and is campaigning with her husband.

The grand old party, Congress, has nominated Lipika Majhi. She’s the daughter of former Dabugaon MLA Bhujabal Majhi and represents Zilla Parisad of Zone no-2 in Nabarangapur district. Lipika Majhi is the sole Congress Zilla Parisad member in the Papadahandi zone.

Congress has fielded Hirabati as its nominee in the Jharigaon assembly seat. Although She is new to electoral politics, Hirabati, a well known face, has been an active tribal rights activist in the area for a decade.

Interestingly, 23 years ago, three women Congress MLAs were elected to the Odisha assembly from Nabarangpur. One of them, veteran Congress women leader Parama Pujari, even became a minister after winning from the Umarkote seat. It’s heartening to see both BJD and Congress providing opportunities for women leaders to contest elections once again after nearly two decades.



  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.