Odisha Elections 2024: Koraput tops voter turnout of 9.25% by 9 am

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 13, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 13: Odisha's electoral landscape saw a voter turnout of 9.25 percent by 9 am today, with Koraput leading at 13.14 percent, followed by Gajapati at 10.20 percent, and Nuapada at 9.98 percent.
Get Latest Updates on Election 2024 Stay Updated with us.
In a significant shift, voters from 23 booths in the cut-off areas of Malkangiri, now part of Swabiman Anchal under the Koraput Lok Sabha segment, are casting their votes in their respective villages instead of the BSF camp where they previously voted.
Also Read: Two poll officials in Odisha suspended for duty neglect 
Today's polling will decide the fate of candidates contesting in four Lok Sabha constituencies - Kalahandi, Nabaragpur, Koraput, and Berhampur. To ensure a smooth electoral process, a massive security deployment of 17,000 platoon police forces, 104 companies of Paramilitary Forces, 66 platoons of SAP, and 600 mobile squads has been organized across various polling booths.
However, technical glitches in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have marred the process in some areas. Reports indicate delays in polling at booths in Malkangiri, Nuapada, Jeypore, and Boriguma due to these issues. During the mock polls conducted between 5:30 am and 7 am, 52 ballot units, 58 control units, and 43 VVPAT machines had to be replaced.
With 7,303 polling booths set up across the state, authorities are working to address these technical challenges swiftly to ensure a fair and efficient voting process.

  • Election 2024
  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.