Odisha: Debi Mishra faces challenge from new contenders in Baramba

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 02, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 2: The politics in Baramba Assembly constituency is heating up as senior BJD leader Debi Prasad Mishra faces challenges from new contenders. 

The ruling BJD has once again reposed faith in the incumbent MLA Debi Prasad Mishra. Mishra has been winning consistently six-time from this segment. He is representing this seat since 1995. 

Mishra had started his political career as Janata Dal nominee, and he has continued as a BJD candidate since 2000. 

On the other hand, BJP has fielded Sambit Kumar Tripathy, an IRS officer who previously worked as a private secretary to Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan.  

After getting voluntary retirement from government job as an IRS officer in 2020, he joined the BJP. He is actively engaged in party works in the constituency since then.

The grand old party Congress has nominated Sanjay Kumar Sahoo, a fresh face as its candidate from this seat.  He claims, he is dedicated to serve the people of the Baramba.

 Sanjay is trying to unite the Congress workers and galvanising them for the victory. Congress won twice in 1980 and 1985 here. 

It is pertinent to mention that BJP has denied a ticket to Bijay Dalabehera, who contested election in 2019 but failed. He secured 72,545 votes, while BJD’s Debi Mishra, secured 90,564 votes and emerged victorious.  Dalabehera said that he would contest as an independent candidate if the party does not reconsider his candidature.

It appears that this election in Baramba would be very intriguing. 

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.