Odisha Assembly Poll in four phases

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | March 16, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, March 16: The election to the Odisha Legislative Assembly is scheduled to be held in four phases to elect 147 members of the state’s legislature

The tenure of the Odisha Legislative Assembly is set to end on 24 June 2024.

 Election will be held in four phases- on 13th May,  20th May,  25th May and.1st June. Simultaneously, the Lok Sabha election will also be held in four phases in Odisha. 

 The four phase poll will be held Lok Sabha seat wise as follows: 

 May 13, 2024 (voting date): Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur, Koraput

 May 20, 2024: Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal, Aska

 May 25, 2024: Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri, Bhubaneswar

 June 01, 2024: Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur


Here's the complete schedule for the Odisha assembly polls:

Issue of notification: April 18, April 26, April 29, May 7


Last date of notification: April 25, May 3, May 6, May 14


Scrutiny of nomination: April 26, May 4, May 7, May 15


Last date of withdrawal of candidature: April 29, May 6, May 9, May 17

The election body has directed the enforcement agencies to be impartial and transparent for a smooth and fair polling ensuring a level-playing field, the CEC Rajiv Kumar said.


The state may witness a triangular contest between the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Indian National Congress (INC). However, there’s also speculation about a potential BJD-BJP alliance, although no official confirmation has been made. 


News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.