Odisha :Two veterans face BJD sitting MLA in Brajrajnagar

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 16, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, April 16: Firece battle is witnessed in Brajaraj Nagar assembly constituency.

Kishore Chandra Patel, former speaker of the Odisha assembly, is now vying for victory in Brajarajnagar as the Congress candidate. In the 2022 by-election, he secured 27,831 votes but lost to Alka Mohanty of the BJD, who emerged victorious with 93,395 votes. The by-election was necessitated due to the unfortunate demise of Kishore Mohanty, the then MLA.

Suresh Pujari, BJP veteran, previously served as a Member of Parliament from Baragarh in 2019. is testing his fate in the Brajarajnagar assembly seat this time..

Both Patel and Pujari have not tasted victory in Brajarajnagar before. While Pujari previously faced 3 times defeat in this assembly segment elections, he had staged a comeback in 2019 by winning the parliamentary seat from Baragarh with a substantial margin. 

On the other hand, Patel, hailing from Sundargarh district, secured the second position in the 2022 by-election in Brajarajnagar assembly election. Hence, the Congress has fielded Patel once again from this assembly seat in the upcoming election.

In the electoral arena, these veteran leaders—Kishore Chandra Patel and Suresh Pujari—will lock horns with the BJD’s sitting MLA Alka Mohanty in Brajarajnagar. It remains to be seen who will emerge victorious in this high-stakes battle.


  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.