ODI WC: Warner hits ton, Australia steady vs Netherlands

Prameyanews English

Last Updated Prameya News Bureau - October 25, 2023

New Delhi, Oct 25: Opting to bat first, Australia were 301/6 in 43.1 overs against the Netherlands in the 24th match of the ICC ODI Men's World Cup at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, here on Wednesday.

Australian opener Mitchell Marsh was back in the pavilion after scoring 9 in 15 balls. Marsh was caught at mid-on by Colin Ackermann trying to play an ambitious lofted shot against Logan van Beek.

Experienced duo David Warner and Steven Smith, then steadied the Australian innings. But after scoring 71 (68 balls, nine 4s and one 6), Smith trying to cut a delivery of Ayan Dutt, was caught by Reolof van der Merwe.

Then Warner was joined in the middle by Marnus Labuschagne. After scoring an impressive 47-ball 62, with seven bounadaries and two hits overs the fence, Labuschagne was out, caught by Aryan Dutt at mid-on off right arm pacer Bas de Leede.

Keeper Josh Inglish was removed again by Bas de Leede, while trying to clear the deep midwicket fence. Sybrand Engelbrecht took a well judged reverse cup catch. 

Centurion Warner also went back after excellent contribution of 104 in 93 balls. The left-handed Aussie opener hit 11 boundaries and three huge sixes. Logan van Beek got his scalp, as Dutt grabbed his second catch in the match at fine leg.

All-rounder Cameroon Green, who made a return to the Aussie squad, could contribute only 8, before being run out by Sybrand Engelbrecht.   

With both sides winning two matches each, out of the four they have played so far, the Aussies and Dutch would be keen to clinch a win here to keep alive their semi-finals hopes alive.

Australia included all-rounder Cameroon Green in their playing XI and left out Marcus Stoinis. But first choice keeper and Mathew Wade was still not available for selection.

Australia XI: 

Pat Cummins (captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa.

Netherlands XI: 

Vikramjit Singh, Max O'Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (captain and wicket-keeper), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt and Paul van Meekeren.

  • ODI WorldCup 2023
  • ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2022 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.