Naveen Patnaik elected as Leader of Opposition in Odisha

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | June 19, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, June 19:  Naveen Patnaik, the former chief minister of Odisha, has taken on a new role as the Leader of Opposition in the Odisha Assembly. This marks his first time serving as the Leader of the Opposition in his political career, which began back in 1997.

Patnaik was unanimously elected to this position at the meeting of BJD legislature party meeting held at Sankha Bhawan here this evening.

 Additionally, Prasanna Acharya has been chosen as the Deputy Leader of Opposition in the house.

 Pramila Mallick, a senior BJD leader and former speaker, of Odisha Assembly has become the Chief Whip of the BJD legislature party, while Pratap Deb, a former Minister, was chosen as the Deputy Chief Whip.

 Patnaik’s political journey has been remarkable. He served as the Chief Minister of Odisha for five consecutive terms, from 2000 until June 2024. However, with the recent elections, the dynamics have changed. The BJP secured a historic victory, winning 78 seats and crossing the maagic number of 74. The BJD, on the other hand, oocupies 51 seats, while the CPI (M) has one, and independent candidates secured three seats. The political landscape in Odisha is evolving and Patnaik’s new role as the Leader of Opposition will undoubtedly shape the state’s future.

 As the new Leader of Opposition, Naveen Patnaik is exptected to stenghten democratic process, His experience and leadership will play a crucial role in shaping the state’s political landscape moving forward.

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News
Rath Yatra

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.