Majhi trio in fray in Nabarangpur Lok Sabha seat

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 01, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, April 30:  Three Majhis – Pradeep Majhi, Balabhadra Majhi and Bhujabal Majhi – are vying for victory in Odisha’s  Nabarangpur district that is going to polls on May 13 ( Fourth phase) .

 Pradeep Majhi, who was earlier elected as a Congress MP in 2009, is now the BJD candidate for this parliamentary seat.

Despite losing the elections in 2014 and 2019 as a Congress candidate, Pradeep switched to the BJD three years ago.

The BJD has reposed faith in him and fielded him this time, hoping to secure an electoral victory.

On the other hand, the veteran leader Bhujabal Majhi locks horn with him on Congress ticket.

Bhujabal has served as a three-time Congress MLA from the Dabugaon assembly constituency, which falls under the Nabarangpur parliamentary constituency

Similarly, Bharatiya Janata party has nominated Balabhadra Majhi as its candidate. In 2019, he was also BJP candidate and secured 29.5% of the total votes. Previously, Balabhadra was elected as a BJD MP from this seat in the 2014 elections but later switched to the BJP just before the 2019 election.

In the 2019 elections, Ramesh Chandra Majhi of the BJD emerged victorious in the Nabarangpur constituency, securing 3,92,504 votes. Pradeep Kumar Majhi of Congress received 3,50,870 votes, while Balabhadra Majhi got  3,42,839 votes. 

The constituency comprises seven Assembly segments: Umerkote, Dabugam, Jharigaon, Kotpad, Nabarangpur, Chitrakonda and Malkanagiri

 It will be interesting to see how this triangular contest unfolds in the upcoming polls.

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.