Koraput Lok Sabha seat to witness a triangular fight

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | April 08, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, April 8: In the Koraput Lok Sabha constituency, a triangular fight is brewing. Congress MP Saptagiri Ulaka will face BJD candidate Kausalya Hikaka and BJP nominee, ST Morcha national general secretary Kaliram Majhi. 

Historically, Koraput has been a stronghold of the Congress party. For 40 years, it was represented by veteran leader and former Chief Minister Giridhar Gamang, who famously voted against the Vajpayee government while serving as Chief Minister in 1999, bringing down the government by a single vote.

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) effectively challenged both Giridhar Gamang and the Congress party’s dominance. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Congress candidate Saptagiri Shankar Ulaka emerged victorious, narrowly defeating BJD’s Kaushalya Hikaka. The margin was tight, with Saptagiri securing 3,71,129 votes and Kaushalya putting up a tough fight with 3,67,516 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJD’s Jhina Hikaka clinched victory, relegating Giridhar Gamang to second place. Jhina secured 3,95,109 votes, while Gamang received 3,75,781 votes.

The Koraput parliamentary constituency comprises seven key Assembly segments: Gunupur (ST), Bissam Cuttack (ST), Rayagada (ST), Laxmipur (ST), Jeypore, Koraput (SC), and Pottangi (ST). Nestled in the tribal belt of Odisha, Koraput boasts several hill stations known for their natural beauty.

As the nation gears up for the upcoming general elections, the political landscape in Koraput remains vibrant. Sitting MP Saptagiri, a software engineer, , armed with a strong track record. seeks reelection, The battle for this seat promises to be closely watched by political enthusiasts and citizens alike.

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.