Cuttack LS: Big fight between BJD’s Santrupt Misra and BJP’s Bhartruhari Mahtab

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 21, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 21: The Cuttack Lok Sabha constituency in Odisha has been a battleground for the major political parties-BJD,BJP and Congress in the 2024 elections. 

The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has fielded Santrupt Misra, an ex-corporate baron, as its candidate. Misra has been actively campaigning across the seven Assembly segments that make up the Cuttack parliamentary constituency. His early nomination and local party support have given him an advantage.

Bhartruhari Mahtab, a six-time MP from the Cuttack who recently swithed from BJD to BJP, is now repesenting BJP and challenging the ruling BJD . He relies on the Modi factor and the BJP’s rising popularity in the district. Mahtab, a best parliamentarian awardee, aims to retain his seat.

The grand old party Congress announced Suresh Mohapatra as its candidate at the last moment. However, Mohapatra seems to be on the back foot in terms of campaigning. Congress holds only one of the seven Assembly segments in the constituency.

BJD’s voting percentage has declined from 57.2% in 2009 to 49.9% in 2019.

Congress’ voting percentage has seen a sharper decline, from 28.1% in 2009 to 9.5% in 2019.

BJP’s voting percentage has consistently risen, reaching 38.1% in 2019.

The Cuttack parliamentary constituency remains a BJD stronghold, but the BJP’s growing influence and Mahtab’s challenge make this election closely contested. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah have already campaigned in the constituency and sought votes for the party candidate.  

  • Odisha Election 2024

News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.