Campaigning gains momentum for final phase of election in Odisha

Prameyanews English

Published By : Prameya News Bureau | May 28, 2024 IST

Bhubaneswar, May 28:   The campaigning for the seventh and final phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Odisha is in full swing.

In Odisha, six Parliament constituencies- Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, and Jagatsinghpur and 42 assembly constituency are heading to the polls on June 1.

Balasore Lok Sabha seat is hotly contested, with former Union Ministers Pratap Chandra Sarangi (BJP) and Srikant Jena (Congress) facing off against BJD’s Lekhashree Samantsinghar.

Several state ministers from the Naveen Patnaik government and sitting MLAs are also in the fray for the Assembly elections.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who leads the BJD, held a public meeting in Kendrapara on Monday for party candidates.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah today addressed in Nimapara assembly constituency, criticizing the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government and sought for blessing to BJP candidates.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior BJP leaders are also scheduled to visit Odisha this week to campaign for their party nominees.

Prime Minister Modi will address public meetings at Baripada, Balasore, and Kendrapara on May 29.

Similarly, Congress president Malikarjun Kharge will also campaign in Odisha on 29 th of this month at Balasore. Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi will also address a public meeting at Bhandaripokhari of Bhadrak and Simulia on 30 th of this month.

The electoral battle in Odisha promises excitement and high stakes as voters head to the polls for the final phase. 

In seventh and the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections, 57 parliamentary constituencies across eight states including Odisha and Union Territories will vote on June 1.

A total of 904 candidates are in the fray in the seventh phase. A total of 13 Lok Sabha seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine seats in West Bengal, eight seats in Bihar, six seats in Odisha, four seats in Himachal Pradesh, three seats in Jharkhand, and one seat in the Union Territory of Chandigarh will go to polls in the last phase.



News7 Is Now On WhatsApp Join And Get Latest News Updates Delivered To You Via WhatsApp

You Might Also Like

More From Related News

Copyright © 2024 - Summa Real Media Private Limited. All Rights Reserved.