Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

VP, PM hail Indian scientists on National Technology Day

11/05/2022 at 12:10 PM

New Delhi, May 11: On the occasion of National Technology Day, Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi today expressed gratitude to Indian scientists for their efforts behind the successful nuclear tests in 1998.

Modi took to his official Twitter handle and said “Today, on National Technology Day, we express gratitude to our brilliant scientists and their efforts that led to the successful Pokhran tests in 1998. We remember with pride the exemplary leadership of Atal Ji who showed outstanding political courage and statesmanship,” sharing a video of the 1998 Pokhran Nuclear Tests.

Hailing Indian scientists, Naidu tweeted “Greetings on National Technology Day! As we mark the anniversary of the 1998 Pokhran nuclear tests, I would like to convey my appreciation of the efforts of our accomplished scientific community & their outstanding contribution to nation-building. #NationalTechnologyDay #Pokhran”.

“It is their diligence and pathbreaking work to which we can attribute our technological progress in a large measure. On this day, I urge our scientists and technologists to find innovative ways to make the lives of people more comfortable and happier. #TechnologyDay” Naidu added.

It is pertinent to mention that, on May 11, 1998, India successfully test-fired the Shakti-I nuclear missile at the Indian Army’s Pokhran Test Range in Rajasthan in operation led by an aerospace engineer and late President Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam.

Two days later, the country successfully tested two more nuclear weapons as a part of the same Pokhran-II/Operation Shakti initiative (Pokhran-I was the 1974 test firing of the ‘Smiling Buddha’ missile).

Following this, the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee declared India a nuclear state, making it the sixth country to join the ‘nuclear club’ of nations and the first one that was not a party to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) – an international treaty signed by the US, Russia, the UK, France, and China which aims to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons and hopes to achieve nuclear disarmament.

   Related Posts