Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Surjya Patro elected Assembly Speaker unopposed

1/06/2019 at 11:57 AM

Bhubaneswar: Digapahandi BJD MLA Surjya Narayan Patro was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA).

Earlier, BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik had announced Patro’s name for the constitutional post. As the party has 112 MLAs in the 147-member house, no election was warranted and he was elected unopposed.

A Bachelor in Law, Patro is a seven-time MLA. He has already served as a Minister with different portfolios in different terms of the Naveen Patnaik Government.

   Related Posts