Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

State records 41% voter turnout till 1 pm

11/04/2019 at 3:25 PM

Bhubaneswar: The State has recorded 41 per cent voter turnout till 1 pm today, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar.

He informed that reports of no untoward incidents at polling booths have received so far.

Initially, voting was delayed in several polling booths after electronic voting machines (EVMs) developed technical glitches. Even as the polling for the first phase election started in four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly constituencies in the State at 7 am this morning, it has been reported that voters have to wait for quite some time to cast their vote due to the non-functioning of EVMs.

The first phase polls is being held in four Lok Sabha seats in Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput along with 28 Assembly constituencies – Nuapada, Khariar, Unerkote, Jharigaon, Nabarangpur, Dabugam, Lanjigarh, Junagarh, Dharmagarh, Bhawanipatna, Narlam, Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Berhampur, Digapandhi, Chikiti, Mohana, Paralakhemundi, Bissam Cuttack, Rayagada, Laxmipur, Kotpada, Jeypore, Koraput, Pottangi, Malkangiri and Chitrakonda.

A total of 60,03,707 voters, including 29,72,925 male, 30,30,222 female and 560 third gender electorates, will exercise their franchise in the first phase of election on Thursday at 7,233 booths.

   Related Posts