Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Split voting makes Aparajita Sarangi victorious

24/05/2019 at 10:09 AM

Bhubaneswar: Even as the BJP had not been able to get any of Assembly seats under the Bhubaneswar Parliamentary constituency, still it has won the Lok Sabha seat, thanks to the massive split voting.

Six of seven Assembly seats under the LS constituency have been won by the BJD while the rest one seat has been grabbed by the Congress.

Sura Routray of Congress has grabbed the Jatni seat. Ananta Narayan Jena has won the Bhubaneswar Central seat, Sushant Kumar Rout the Bhubaneswar North, Ashok Kumar Panda the Ekamra-Bhubaneswar, Jitu Mitra Khorda, Arabinda Dhali the Jeydev seat and Rajendra Kumar Sahu has grabbed the Begunia seat.

Interestingly, the BJP, which has not got a single Assembly seat under the Parliamentary constituency, has grabbed the LS seat with its candidate Aparajita Sarangi defeating BJD rival Arup Kumar Pattnaik. From this, it is well understood that voters were very choosy and split their votes for Assembly and LS seats.

   Related Posts