Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Results of Nandigram declared, Suvendu Adhikari wins by 1956 votes

2/05/2021 at 11:05 PM

Kolkata, May 2: The Election Commission of India finally declared BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari as the winner of Nandigram assembly constituency.

As per the ECI website, Adhikari defeated TMC’s Mamata Banerjee by a margin of 1956 votes. While Adhikari got 110764 votes, Mamata got 108808 after 17 rounds of counting.

Earlier in the day, reports suggested Mamata of winning the seat by a slim margin of 1200 votes. The TMC later demanded immediate recounting of votes of Nandigram constituency.

TMC in a letter to the Chief Electoral Officer alleged tampering and mismanagement of votes. The party claimed that counting process was stalled several times and has not been reported by the Election Commission.

   Related Posts