Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Rajani to be Assembly Deputy Speaker, Pranab Govt Deputy Chief Whip

7/06/2019 at 6:43 PM

Bhubaneswar: BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today nominated Angul MLA Rajani Kant Singh as the Assembly Deputy Speaker and Dharmasala MLA Pranab Balabantray as Government Deputy Chief Whip in the Assembly.

The regional party has won 111 seats in 147-member Assembly in the recently concluded elections in the State. While BJP has won 23 seats Congress managed to grab only nine seats.

Earlier, six-time MLA Surya Narayan Patro was elected as the Speaker of the Assembly.

The names of many senior leaders are doing the rounds for the posts of deputy speaker and deputy government chief whip. Chief minister Naveen Patnaik will take the call before the budget session.


   Related Posts