Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

oro infra
oro infra
previous arrow
next arrow

Preparedness for cyclone Jawad: Odisha Chief Secretary equips coastal districts with pre-measures, essential logistics

1/12/2021 at 11:51 PM

Bhubaneswar, Dec 1: Anticipating heavy downpour and untoward devastation due to possible ‘Cyclone Jawad’ on December 4, Odisha Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra chaired a high-level review and preparatory meeting at Lokseva Bhawan on Wednesday.

He urged Collectors of the coastal districts and directed them to equip with essential logistics in order to manage the untoward situations caused by the Jawad.

In a video conference hosted in this connection, Mahapatra directed district officials of Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Mayurbhanj,  Puri, Ganjam to mobilize essential commodities and logistics ahead of the probable disaster. He also asked to address waterlogging issues effectively in cities like Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur etc.

At the same time, he urged appropriate steps to be taken for communicating information to farmers regarding the protection of paddy and the standing crops.

Mahapatra said, Instant evacuation process should be expedited and the people should be accommodated in cyclone shelters and other safe-shelters after the exact course and trend of the Cyclone gets ascertained.

Focusing light on the weathercast, Special Relief Commissioner  Pradeep Kumar Jena said that ODRAF, NDRF and Fire Service teams are kept ready for mobilisation. Around 108 ODRAF and NDRF teams and 200 fire service teams will be deployed as per requirements in the vulnerable districts.

The district officials have been asked for mike-announcement for making people aware of the situation and to cooperate with the administrative measures undertaken for management of the Jawad.

 Among others, Health Secretary RK Sharma, Forest Secretary, Dr Mona Sharma, Panchayati Raj Secretary, Ashok Meena, Urban Development Secretary, G Mathivathnan, Energy Secretary, Nikunja Bihari Dhal and Works Secretary, Dr Krishan Kumar were present at the meeting.


   Related Posts