Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Poor show: OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik announces resignation

24/05/2019 at 12:22 PM

Bhubaneswar: Taking moral responsibility over poor performance of Congress in the the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik today announced his resignation from the post.

“I have sent my resignation to AICC for the defeat of the party in Odisha,” informed Patnaik, who himself witnessed defeat in two Assembly constituencies – Bhandaripokhari and Ghasipura.

The Congress won nine Assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat this election. The party had won 16 of the 147 Assembly seats in 2014. This time the party fielded candidates in 140 seats.

The State, which saw Assembly and Lok Sabha elections simultaneously, has decisively handed a mandate to BJD and endorsed a record fifth consecutive term for Patnaik. Patnaik’s BJD has won 112 seats. In 2014, it had won 117 seats while BJP bagged 10 seats. Congress won 16 seats in the 147-member State Assembly.

On the other hand the BJP has registered victory in 24 Assembly seats.



   Related Posts