Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Phase-II polls: 64% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

18/04/2019 at 6:27 PM

Bhubaneswar: Till 5 pm, 64 per cent voter turnout was recorded in second phase polls, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar here.

The turnout may increase as the polling will end at 6 pm. Polling in Maoists-hit areas was completed at 4 pm.

In the second phase, balloting is being held simultaneously in five Lok Sabha constituencies – namely, Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska and 35 corresponding Assembly constituencies – Padmapur, Bijepur, Bargarh, Attabira, Bhatli, Brajarajnagar, Jharsuguda, Talsara, Sundargarh, Biramitrapur, Raghunathpalli, Rourkela, Rajgangpur, Bonai, Birmaharajpur, Sonepur, Loisingha, Patnagarh, Bolangir, Titlagarh, Kantabanjhi, Baliguda, G Udyagiri, Phulbani, Kantamal, Boudh, Daspalla, Bhanjanagar, Polasara, Kabisuryanagar, Khalikote, Aska, Surada, Sanakhemundi and Hinjili.

There are 76.93 lakh registered voters in this phase. Polling is being held at 9,117 booths. A total of 35 candidates are in the fray for the five Lok Sabha seats while 244 candidates, are contesting for the 35 Assembly seats.


   Related Posts