Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Patkura election begins amid tight security

20/07/2019 at 8:58 AM

Bhubaneswar: Elections to the Patkura Assembly seat under the Kendrapara Lok Sabha constituency began amid tight security at as many as 309 polling booths at 7 am this morning. However, the voting was delayed at a few booths due to technical snags marked in electronic voting machines (EVMs), according to reports.

As many as four companies of Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) along with adequate numbers of police personnel have been deployed at different booths to ensure a free and fair election. Notably, the election to Patkura was earlier postponed twice due to death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla and Cyclone Fani.

As many as 1700 polling officials have been engaged to conduct voting at different places. A total o f 2,44,747 voters are scheduled to choose the fates of 10 candidates, who include BJD’s Sabitri Agarwalla, BJP’s Bijay Mohaptra and the Congress’ Jayant Kumar Mohanty. As many as 138 booths have been identified as sensitive

According to the schedule of the ECI, voting would continue till 6 pm. Counting of votes will be done on July 24.

   Related Posts