Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Odisha rural polls: Four Zilla Parishad president posts reserved for OBCs

16/10/2021 at 4:43 PM

Bhubaneswar, Oct 16: The Odisha government today released the draft reservation list for the post of Zilla Parishad president in all the districts across the state. The government has allotted four Zilla Parishad president posts to Other Backward Classes (OBCs).

As per the draft list published by the panchayati Raj Department, the four districts reserved for OBCs are Angul, Keonjhar, Khordha and Gajapati.

Similarly, Zilla Parishad president posts of 12 districts–Kalahandi, Kendrapara, Ganjam, Jharsuguda, Dhenkanal, Deogarh, Nuapada, Puri, Bargarh, Bolangir, Boudh, Sambalpur–will see candidates from unreserved categories fight it out to the top most tier of the Panchayat Raj system.

The government has notified four districts– Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur and Bhadrak– for Scheduled Caste category.

Besides, Kandhamal, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Sundargarh and Sonepur have been reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates.

The State government has reserved 50 per cent of all ZP chief posts for women candidates.

   Related Posts