Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

News7 Short Film Contest: ‘Through the eyes of an artist’ wins best film award

6/03/2021 at 3:20 PM

Bhubaneswar, Mar 6: ‘Through the eyes of an artist’ won the best film award at News7 Short Film Contest ‘Showcase – 2020’.

The short film Produced by Kalandi Ch Sahoo was awarded a cash prize of Rs 50,000 along with the plaque and certificate.

While, Satya Praksh Sahoo’s Gudia bagged the second best film award and received a cash prize of Rs 30,000, ‘Duhita’ produced by Sabita Nayak bagged the best film (people’s choice) award with a cash prize of Rs 20,000.  

The awards were given in 12 categories after short listing 37 movies from the 87 entries. The movies were reviewed by renowned Odia movie director Subash Das, actress Anu Choudhury and film critic Surya Deo.

The makers were directed to shoot the films within 1 to 12 minutes.

Short film is an innovative concept that puts an arduous task before a film maker to express the emotions within a prescribed time frame. Though this noble initiative, Odisha’s leading Odia news channel News7 has initiated and attempt to promote short film making in the state bringing the hidden talents to limelight.

List of awardees:

Best director: Abhisekh Swain ( Through the eyes of an artist)

Best Actor: Choudhury Jaypraksh Das ( Gudia)

Best Actress: Prativa Panda ( Abhinetri)

Best Child artist: Arya Abhipsa Khuntia (Gudia)

Best supporting actor: Mohameed Babloo (Duhita)

Best supporting actress: Kanak Choudhury Dandasena (Bhanga Silata)

Special jury award ( for social message): The Book

Special jury artist award: Swati Priadarshini Sarangi (Apadartha)

Special Jury concept award: Sandip Ray (producer of Mother Nature)

All the awardees were felicitated with cash prize of Rs 10,000, plaque and certificate.

The occasion was graced by veteran Odia film producer, writer and director Sabyasachi Mohapatra, former parliamentarian and popular Odia film actor Siddhanta Mahapatra, actress Anu Choudhury, Actor Akash Das Nayak, actor, Rajya Sabha member Munna Khan and singer Lopita Mishra.

   Related Posts