Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

star kirano
ratha jatra live
star kirano
ratha jatra live
previous arrow
next arrow

Naveen likely to take oath as Odisha CM for record 5th term on Monday

24/05/2019 at 6:15 PM

Bhubaneswar: BJD president Naveen Patnaik is likely to take oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for record fifth consecutive term on Monday. The legislature party meet is likely to be held on Saturday.

Meanwhile, Governor Ganeshi Lal accepted the resignation tendered by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. The Governor requested Patnaik and his Council of Ministers to continue in office till the date the new Council of Ministers is sworn in.

Patnaik’s BJD registered victory in 112 Assembly seats while BJP witnessed victory in 24 and Congress in eight seats. The State has altogether 147 Assembly seats. Polls to the Patkura constituency were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate.

Patnaik has been the CM of Odisha since 2000.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has overtaken Congress as the main opposition party, is ahead on 24 seats. Congress is leading in 13 seats. CM Patnaik is leading in Hinjili and also in Bijepur by a huge margin.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, the regional party had secured 117 seats while BJP bagged 10 seats. Congress won 16 seats.

   Related Posts