Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Meeting to select the 5th member of Lokayukta appointment committee held

6/10/2018 at 6:51 PM


Bhubaneswar: The Selection Committee headed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today held its first meeting to select the fifth member of the Lokayukta Appointment Committee.

Besides Chief Minister, Orissa High Court Chief Justice KS Jhaveri, Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat, Leader of Opposition Narasingh Mishra are the members of the Selection Committee.

While hearing a case on appointment of Lokayukta in various States including Odisha on July 10 this year, the Supreme Court had asked the State Government to appoint Lokayukta in the State within three months.

The Odisha Lokayukta Bill was passed by the State Assembly in February 2014 and it got the President’s nod in 2015. The Act came into effect July 7 this year.

However, it was yet to be executed.

The Government is likely to seek more time from Supreme Court for appointment of Lokayukta.

   Related Posts