Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Manik Saha takes oath as new Chief Minister of Tripura

15/05/2022 at 12:13 PM

Agartala, May 15: A day after the incumbent Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb stepped down, Tripura BJP President Manik Saha was sworn in as the 12th Chief Minister of the northeastern state today.

Earlier yesterday, Saha (69) was elected as the BJP legislative party leader, a year ahead of the assembly elections in the state.

Soon after he was named as the new Chief Minister, a scuffle broke out among MLAs as minister Ram Prasad Paul protested. He also broke a few chairs before the situation was calmed, sources said.

It is pertinent to mention that Saha resigned from Congress and joined the BJP in 2016. He was made the president of the state unit in 2020 and was also elected to the Rajya Sabha in March this year.

The election to the 60-member Tripura Assembly is due in January-February next year.

   Related Posts