Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A to begin in Oman on Feb 18

29/01/2022 at 10:44 PM

New Delhi, Jan 29: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A supported by Dream XI, gets underway on 18 February in Oman with the hosts taking on Nepal in the opening game.

The event is one of two global qualifiers that together form the final stages of the qualification process for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. All twenty matches of the eight-team tournament will be streamed live on FanCode in the Indian sub-continent and on ICC.tv across the rest of the world.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A features hosts Oman, Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Philippines, and United Arab Emirates (UAE). Ireland and Oman had qualified for this tournament after being eliminated in the first round of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, whilst Nepal and the UAE booked their slots via their rankings in the ICC MRF Tyres Men’s T20I Team rankings. The other participating teams qualified through regional qualifying tournaments held through the course of last year.

The teams in Qualifier A are divided into two groups of four. Each team will play all the other teams once in its group, followed by position classification matches. The two teams that reach the final will advance to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia later this year.

Group A of the qualifier features Canada Nepal, Oman, and Philippines whilst, Group B features Bahrain, Germany, Ireland, and UAE.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B will be held from 11 – 17 July 2022 in Harare, Zimbabwe and will feature Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Uganda, the United States of America (USA) along with hosts Zimbabwe.

   Related Posts