Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Dharmendra, Pratap take oath as Union Ministers

30/05/2019 at 9:10 PM

Bhubaneswar: Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Sarangi took oath as Cabinet Minister and Minister of State (MoS), respectively in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Ministry.

Pradhan, a member of the Rajya Sabha, held the Petroleum and Natural Gas, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Minister in Modi’s first Government.

Pradhan represents Madhya Pradesh in the Rajya Sabha.

Sarangi is a first time MP. He defeated outgoing BJD MP and industrialist Rabindra Kumar Jena and Nabajyoti Patnaik of Congress, two of Odisha’s richest MP candidates fielded against him.

Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for second consecutive term after his BJP’s spectacular victory in the Lok Sabha elections this evening by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Odisha had two Cabinet Ministers in the last Narendra Modi Ministry, Jual Oram and Dharmendra Pradhan. However, the number increased to eight this election.

Besides Sarangi, former Union Minister Jual Oram, Suresh Pujari, former bureaucrat Aparajita Sarangi, Basanta Panda, Suresh Pujari, Sangita Singh Deo and Nitish Gang Deb are the BJP winners in the State.

   Related Posts