Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Delimitation Commission recommends 43 Assembly seats for Jammu, 47 for Kashmir

5/05/2022 at 7:11 PM

New Delhi, May 5: The Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir has recommended 43 Assembly seats for Jammu division and 47 seats to the Kashmir out of the 90 Assembly Constituencies in the region.

The distribution has been prepared in view the provisions of Section 9(1)(a) of the Delimitation Act, 2002 and Section 60(2)(b) of Jammu & Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the Delimitation order said.

The Commission on Thursday finalised the delimitation order and submitted it to the Election Commission of India.

It has reserved nine Assembly Constituencies for the Scheduled Tribes, out of which, six are in Jammu region and three in Kashmir.

The constitution of the erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir state had no provision for the reservation of seats for Scheduled Tribes in the Legislative Assembly.

The Commission headed by Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai, (a retired Judge of the Supreme Court of India), and Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra, and Election Commissioner of Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir K.K. Sharma as Ex-Officio members of the Delimitation Commission met Thursday to finalise the Delimitation Order for the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir.

   Related Posts