Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Cong names Dillip Panda for Bijepur by-poll

26/09/2019 at 9:53 AM

Bhubaneswar: When people in political circle are eagerly waiting to know who the candidates to be fielded by political are parties for the Bijepur by-election, the Congress came first to name its candidate to the quench the thirst.

Late on Wednesday evening, All India Congress president announced the name of Dillip Kumar Panda, a youth leader, as party’s candidate for the by-poll. Earlier on Wednesday morning, the Pradesh Congress Committee sent names of five probable candidates to the AICC for final selection. The other four were Abhishek Seth, Surendra Patra, Swadhismita Suren and Rabindra Panda.

Commenting on his candidature, Panda said, “I thank my party leaders to have built trust on me. I along with my party colleagues will work hard and I am sure that I will win the by-poll.”

Meanwhile, PCC president Niranjan Patnaik has deployed 11 leaders to manage election affairs and ensure that party candidate win the by-poll with a comfortable margin.

It may be noted that the BJD has stated that its candidate would file nominations on the last date of filing of nominations on September 30. “Our candidate for the Bijepur by-poll will be finanlised by party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik soon. We have decided that out candidate will file nominations on September 30,” said BJD vice-president and Rajya Sabha member Prasanna Acharya.

The BJP has also initiated preparation to field a candidate having winnability prospects. The party would send at least two names to the Central committee for finalisation.

   Related Posts