Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

CM to review Bijepur dev today; abuzz on his seat quital begins

30/05/2019 at 1:45 PM

Bhubaneswar: On the second day of his fifth term, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will hold a review meeting on the development of Bijepur Assembly constituency at the State Secretariat here on Thursday afternoon.

It may be noted that Patnaik has won elections in two Assembly constituencies, Hinjili and Bijepur.

After he was sworn in as Chief Minister of the State here on Wednesday, discussions have begun in politial circle as to which seat Patnaik would quit.

It is a norm that a person can hold only MP or MLA seat even as he or she wins more than one. It is also norm that he or she has to quit the other seats after assuming office so that re-polling can be held in the vacant seat/s within six months.

Now, byelection is expected to be held for Patkura Assembly constituency and one of the two seats, Bijepur and Hinjili (to be quit by Patnaik) within six months.

Patkura election was held up as BJD candidate Bed Praksh Agarwalla died during the course of polls. Though Agrawalla’s widow Sabitri filed nomination papers for May 19 polls refixed by the Election Commission of India, yet polling was further postponed due to Cyclone Fani that hit Odisha coast on May 3.

   Related Posts