Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

BJD, BJP, Cong Candidates file nominations for Bijepur by-poll

30/09/2019 at 2:41 PM

Bargarh: With the Election Commission issuing notification for bypoll to the Bijepur Assembly constituency that will go to polls on October 21, candidates of three major political parties filed their nominations on Monday.

Candidates of the three major political parties – Rita Sahu of ruling BJD and Sanat Gartia of opposition BJP and Dillip Kumar Panda of Congress – filed their nominations at the Sub-Collector’s office in Padmapur to contest Bijepur Assembly bypoll.

The three candidates arrived in the Sub-Collector’s office separately and submitted their nomination papers before the Returning Officer-cum-Padmapur Sub Collector.

The candidates arrived at the Sub-Collector’s office in huge rallies accompanied by thousands of supporters. Adequate police personnel have been deployed under the guidance of the Padmapur SDPO to ensure law and order.

Though BJD has relied on Rita, who had won the seat in 2018 by-poll, the BJP has once again fielded Sanat, who had unsuccessfully contested against BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the last election held in April this year.

   Related Posts