Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Campaign for Bijepur by-poll ends today

19/10/2019 at 11:27 AM

Bhubaneswar: Star campaigners of three major political parties, the BJD, the BJP and the Congress, intensified campaigning in by-poll bound Bijepur Assembly constituency for their respective candidates as today is the last day for campaigning.

As per norms of the Election Commission of India, leaders can canvass voters for their candidates till 5 pm today and all outsider leaders (other than residents of Bijepur Assembly constituency) would leave the area by evening. 

Election would be held at 285 polling booths across the three blocks of Bijeupr, Barpali and Gaisilet on October 21. All booths would come under CCTV surveillance, informed the district Collector.

Notably, the BJD’s top star campaigner Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conducted high-voltage road shows for his party candidate Rita Sahu at different place in the constituency for two days on October 17 and 18.

Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Sarangi and BJP State president Basanta Panda among many BJP leaders campaigned for Sanat Gadtia.

Similarly, Congress Legislature Party Leader Narasingha Mishra, MLAs Suresh Kumar Routray and Tara Prasad Bahinipati, among others, campaigned for party candidate Dillip Panda.

Today, star campaigners of all the parties are moving door to door and urging voters to for  their respective candidates. 

   Related Posts