Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

BJD’s Minakshi Mahanta wins Champua Assembly seat

23/05/2019 at 7:14 PM

Keonjhar: BJD Assembly candidate from Champua Minakshi Mahanta won the election by a margin of 25,504 votes.  BJP had fielded Murali Manohar Sharma from this constituency.

In 2014, the BJD had fielded Odia actor Tatwa Prakash Satpathy alias Papu Pom Pom from the constituency. However, the seat was won by Independent candidate Sanatan Mahakud by a margin of around 14,000 votes.

As per the latest trends, BJD is leading in 110 Assembly seats while BJP and Congress are leading in 25 and 10. Similarly, BJD is leading in 14 Lok Sabha seats while BJP is leading in three parliamentary constituencies.

Both the parties had fielded candidates in all the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats.

Elections were held in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

   Related Posts