Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

BJD retains Puri LS, loses 2 Assembly seats under it

24/05/2019 at 11:45 AM

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Das has retained the Puri Lok Sabha seat and won five out of seven Assembly seats under it and the rest two have been grabbed by the BJP.

BJD candidate Pinaki Misra retained the Parliament seat for the third consecutive time. Former Minister Sanjay Dasburma lost the Brahmagiri Assembly seat to the BJP’s Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra and Maheswar Mohanty lost the Puri seat to the BJP’s Jayant Kumar Sarangi.

However, the party’s Umakant Samantray, Pradeep Moharathy and Arun Sahu have retained their respective seats, Satyabadi, Pipili and Nayarah. While Prasant Jagdeb has won the Chilika seat by defeating BJP candidate Prithviraj Harichandan, the Ranapur Assembly seat has been grabbed by BJD’s Satyanarayan Pradhan. The BJP had won the Chilika seat in 2014.

   Related Posts