Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Bijoy Mohapatra dares Naveen to contest from Patkura

30/04/2019 at 2:08 PM

Kendrapara: Senior BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra, who is contesting from Patkura Assembly constituency, today dared BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to contest from Patkura.

Notably, BJD has fielded Sabitri Agarwalla, late party MLA Bed Prakash Agarwalla, as its candidate from the Patkura Assembly constituency with a hope to garner sympathy votes.

“I suggest Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to contest from Patkura,” said Mohapatra in a press conference.

Election in Patkura, which was earlier scheduled to be held on April 29, was adjourned following the death of the 82-year-old Bed Prakash, a six-time MLA, on April 20. Later, the Election Commission of India (ECI) fixed May 19 for polling, the last phase of the seven-phase elections in the country.

BJP has fielded veteran leader Bijoy Mohapatra from Patkura Assembly seat.

Mohapatra, is hoping for a return in his home turf Patkura, after a gap of almost two decades, this time.

   Related Posts