Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Bijepur bypoll to be held on October 21

21/09/2019 at 1:44 PM

Bhubaneswar: Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora today announced the date for the Bijepur Assembly byelections, the seat vacated by BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik after retaining his traditional Hinjili Assembly constituency.

Polling will take place on October 21 while counting will be held on October 24.

“The notification will be issued on September 23 and the last date for nominations will be September 24. Scrutiny of candidates will be done by October 1. October 3 will be the last day for withdrawal of nominations,” said Arora in a press conference in New Delhi.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Patnaik formed an election coordination committee for the Bijepur byelection. The committee has senior Ministers Niranjan Pujari and Susanta Singh and leaders like Kalikesh Singh Deo and Sanjay Das Burma as members.

They would visit Bijepur to take stock of the situation on the ground and finalise candidate for the politically important byelection.

Rita Sahu, the widow of Congress leader and former Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu, who won the Bijepur bypoll on a BJD ticket in 2018, has emerged as a strong contender for the upcoming byelection as well.

   Related Posts