Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

Bijepur by-poll: Dharmendra to conduct road shows today

11/10/2019 at 9:55 AM

Bhubaneswar: With only nine days left for Bijepur by-election, star campaigners of the three main political parties, BJD, BJP and Congress, have started visiting Bijepur to campaign for their respective candidates.

According to information, senior BJP leader and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan will conduct road shows at different places in Barpali and Bijepur blocks to canvas voters in favour of his party candidate Sanat Gartia. Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari and BJP State president Basant Panda are likely to accompany Pradhan in the scheduled road shows.

Union Minister Smirit Irani will hit the campaign trail the constituency on October 14 i.e. Monday. Other BJP stalwarts like Union Minister Pratap Sarangi and Sundargarh MP Jual Oram will also campaign for Gartia on later days.

Reports also stated that Minister Tukuni Sahoo, senior BJD leader Sanjay Dasburma and Minister Prafulla Mallik will conduct road shows for party  candidate Rita Sahu at Barpali today.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, the top star campaigner of the BJD, is likely to conduct road shows in all the three blocks of the poll-bound constiuency- Bijepur, Barpali and Gysilat- on October 17 and 18.

The Congress team has also come forward to woo voters in favour of its candidate Dilip Kumar Panda. Things changed positively for Panda after a meeting held between “dissident” Ripunath Seth and PCC president Niranjan Patnaik at Bhubaneswar on Thursday.

The election to the Bijepur seat would be held on October 21 and counting of votes is scheduled on October 24.

Notably, the By-poll has been initiated after BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik vacated the seat in June this year. Patnaik, who retained his old Hinjili seat, had won the Bijepur seat getting over 1,10,000 votes and pushing BJP candidate Sanat and Congress candidate Ripumath Seth to distance second and third positions, respectively, in the last assembly elections held in April this year.

   Related Posts