Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

AOPA’s annual conference kicks off at VD College

24/01/2021 at 7:03 PM

Jeypore, Jan 24: The 33rd annual conference of All Odisha Philosophy Association (AOPA) kicked-off on Saturday under the aegis of the Department of Philosophy of Vikram Deb Autonomous College in Jeypore of Koraput district.

 The department earned the distinction of holding its maiden AOPA conference spanning three days in virtual mode. The opening day witnessed a handsome turnout of participants in excess of two hundred and fifty.

  Inaugurating the event Dr Gopal Halder, Principal, Vikram Deb Autonomous College delivered the welcome address and expressed his immense pleasure and thankfulness to all the dignitaries, participants and lauded the members of the organising committee for their tireless efforts in getting up the mega event.

Prof Ganesh Prasad Das, Vice-President, AOPA initiated the proceedings with introduction of guests and notable luminaries. The President of AOPA Prof Saroj Kumar Mohanty delivered the keynote address and Dr BC Sahoo, General Secretary, AOPA presented the annual report of the association.

Besides, Prof Ripu Sudan Srivastava, Formerly Vice-Chancellor, BN University, Bihar graced the occasion as Chief Guest. The much-awaited AOPA journal was launched by him.

The Guest of Honour Prof Prafulla Kumar Mohapatra, Advisor, AOPA released a book entitled Action, Freedom and Responsibility: A Conceptual Study and wished the symposium a great success. To mark the momentous event, a souvenir was also unveiled by the Principal.

Renowned academicians Late Prof Ramesh Das, Dhaneswar Sahu, Dr Ranjit Ghosh, Dr Priyambad Pattnaik were felicitated for their substantial contributions to philosophical studies. The results of essay competitions conducted by AOPA were announced and prizes given away to winners.

The inaugural session came to an end with a proposal of Vote of Thanks by the Organising Secretary Lt. Dr Lakshman Patra, Head, Department of Philosophy, VD College, Jeypore.

   Related Posts