Odisha News In English

Prameya English, Prameyanews.com, Odisha Latest News, Odisha News Online

previous arrow
next arrow

Andhra Pradesh govt forms 13 new districts

26/01/2022 at 3:16 PM

Vijayawada, Jan 26: The Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy government in Andhra Pradesh has redrawn the state’s district map, with the creation of 13 new districts.

With the creation of the new districts, the state will have 26 districts.

The government issued a gazette notification carving out the new districts under the Andhra Pradesh Districts Formation Act, Section 3(5).

It called for submission of objections and suggestions from persons residing in those districts in writing within 30 days of this notification.

The new districts have been formed on the basis of Andhra Pradesh’s Parliamentary constituencies, with as many as 24 of the State’s 25 Lok Sabha constituencies being converted into districts.

The Araku Lok Sabha constituency in Visakhapatnam has been bifurcated into two districts.

The names of the new 13 districts are: Manyam, Alluri Sitharama Raju, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Kona Seema, Eluru, NTR District, Bapatla, Palnadu, Nandyal, Sri Satyasai, Annamayya and Sri Balaji district.

   Related Posts